Double-blind whiskey tasting

Weav

I asked my wife to set up a double-blind tasting of three bourbons (and a rye) tonight. I let her choose three from the following list, but I wouldn't know which three she chose: regular Beam, Blanton's, ORVW 10 '13, VWSR Lot B '13, Sazerac Rye 6, WLW BTAC '13 and PVW '13. I wasn't necessarily trying to identify the three choices, just choose which one I liked the best. There were four pours, with one of the three being poured twice (my idea of a double-blind, I hope that's correct...I'm a little new to this). I used the Carmer method for spirit tasting. Maybe it's my imagination, but I really think I taste more flavors using his method.

#1 - tasted great, really familiar, great legs, nice color, not much alcohol burn
#2 - light color, not the best taste, better nose than flavor, little burn
#3 - started okay, finished wonderful, great legs, hints of fruit and carmel, loved it, rich color
#4 - definitely the same as number 1, went back and tasted one again. They are the same pour.

To my pleasure, my favorite was...#3, PVW 20 '13! Frankly, I hadn't fallen in love with this bottle yet, so I am pleased that it was my favorite. Best of all, I purchased it in a liquor control state :) This my first bottle of Pappy, and I found it my first year hunting. When I first opened it I liked it, but preferred the 15 I had tried more. I'm please I liked it so much tonight. I want to like it as much as the hype it gets. Maybe I'm on my way to doing so.

#2 I picked as regular Beam, and it was. Noting to see here, moving on...the real surprise was was that #1 and #4 was Sazerac 6. I really expected it to be VWSR Lot B '13. After tasting #3, the PVW 20 '13, the Saz lost a lot of character, even after a palette cleansing. I guess my tasting chops are not up to snuff with the real pros yet, maybe some day. Thank for reading. Attached is my limited collection of bourbons and ryes.

post-1134-0-88802300-1392186160_thumb.jpg

• Like 5