Why do you pick your armies?

rudra34

So I recently picked up some Tohaa as a army, and it got me wondering why and how you all pick what faction you want to play.  For me it varies.   I picked MO in the beginning because I thought the idea of closing in for combat was fun (turns out MO isn't even that great of a CC army), then QK and Ariadna because I wanted something that was tactically different than Pano.  This time it's all about visuals and painting.  Tohaa are very unique-looking in the infinity world and the more i looked at them the more I got into the aesthetic.   

So, how do you all pick?

Accident. :P

I started playing Ariadna because I'm not a big fan of anime and they're the least anime-ish faction in the game. Then I kind of accidentally fell into playing CHA. My girlfriend, at first, wanted to play PanO, but she changed her mind after we had the Icestorm set and the old SAA starter, so I just expanded on them (with great help from a big Labor Day sale at a game store up north.) I wound up playing NCA because of all those goodies from the sale... got the NCA starter and the Fusiliers box, among other things. My friend George from the Pride of Rodina blog scored the Nomads on a crazy deal on auction, and he managed to bait me into buying them for stupidly cheap.

So yeah. Accident.

• Like 1

I looked at the models and fluff.

PanOceania being the hyper power seemed like playing Space Marines. There models are very cool.

Yu-Jing did not have the same amount of cool models when I started playing. Plus, the fluff did not appeal to me.

Ariadna was too low tech and seemed like playing army men. I totally like their fluff.

Tohaa seemed too complicated as a starter army and their fluff was weird.

Combined are the bad guys. I am not fond of playing the bad guys. There models were not as cool as they are now.

Nomads had cool tech, a cool back story, and neat models. The seemed super Anime  

The Haqq had cool models and a great story.