Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  
evil_bryan

OFCC Missions

Recommended Posts

I know I have been late to the party with the 40K Missions, but I wanted to start getting out finished missions prior to the event for review.

I also wanted to use to some of the missions to showcase something we will have available starting at OFCC, our token set!

image.png

Note: You are certainly not required to have the token set to play any of the missions, but I am sure it will be hard to pass up their blood splattered beauty. 🙂 

Now, on to the first mission -

 

Mission: Land Claim

Each Player has 6 Land Claim tokens (numbered 1-6) that can be deployed on the battlefield during the course of the game (use dice if you do not have tokens.)

Each number on the tokens represents their victory point value if they are in play by the end of the game.

Deployment: Dawn of War

Placing Land Claim Tokens:

  • Tokens are placed at the end of the movement phase
  • Any unit can place a token
  • The number on the token (x 6") represents the minimum distance the token must be placed from your board edge (Token #1 - 6" or more from your board edge, Token #6 - 36" or more from your board edge)
  • Tokens must be placed on the table surface or on the ground floor of a terrain feature and within 3" of the unit placing the token

Destroying Tokens:

  • Any enemy unit not in melee combat can destroy an opponent's Land Claim token by ending their turn within 3" of that token
  • Destroyed tokens are returned to the controlling player for possible future placement
  • The only way to stop your opponent from destroying your land claim token is not allowing them to end their movement within 3" of it
  • You cannot destroy your own Land Claim token

Primary Scoring:

Most points in play from deployed Land Claim tokens, tokens are worth their face value in points

Bonus Scoring:

Most tokens placed during the game - 1 Point

Most tokens destroyed during the game - 2 Points

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
1 hour ago, WestRider said:

These look like fun, especially that first one! One possible typo on Mission 3: Control Unit - When the Control Unit pulses, it causes "S7 AP4 Hits". Should that be "S7 AP-4"?

Oops...clearly my 7th edition is showing. 🙂

That will be changed to S7 AP -1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
4 hours ago, Munkie said:

To clarify on the Grot Hunt, do they not move at all if captured (unless a 1 is rolled)?

 

Correct...I have clarified the Mission to read:

Rules for Grots:

·       Any Grot within 3" of a unit is considered Captured, any Grot not captured is considered Free

·       Sneaking - At the beginning of every movement phase, your opponent can move every Free Grot d6" in any direction

·       Fleeing - At the end of each players turn, that player rolls a d6 for each Captured Grot they control. On a 1, your opponent can move the Grot 2d6 in any direction.

·       Unless Sneaking or Fleeing, Grots do not move and cannot be moved by the capturing player

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

...which is then secured to bedrock with explosive bolts, meaning the unit can't move more than 3" away from the captured Grot unless/until it escapes.

Last bullet point: • Unless Sneaking or Fleeing, Grots do not move and cannot be moved by the capturing player (emphasis mine)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Sneaky Git Mission specific questions of sneaky-gitted-sneaky-ness of git-dom:

Can an Objective (a Grot, Control Unit, or Energy Nexus in Missions 1, 3, and 5, respectively) be claimed PRIOR to turn 1 by way of before-the-first-turn Vanguard moves, Scout moves, Infiltrator deployment, redeployment via special ability, Genestealer Cult  ability, or other shenanigans? (Shenanigans like Act-of-Faith moves, etc, which happen at the START of turn are allowed, I assume?)

In Mission 1: Grot Hunt, can you choose to abandon a Captured Grot (thereby making it a Free Grot) by moving the unit with control over the Captured Grot more than 3" away from the spot where the Grot was captured? Can the capturing unit turn over control of the Captured Grot to another unit? If a unit cannot voluntarily move away from the Captured Grot, what happens if the controlling unit is moved away from the Captured Grot involuntarily, such as by having to Fall Back or Retreat more than 3" away, an opponents psychic puppet ability, etc?

In Mission 2: Land Claim, the correct reading of the Bonus Scoring  section is the most of YOUR OWN tokens YOU placed (and if removed, placed once again) when compared to the number of your OPPONENTs tokens placed (and placed again) during the game, correct?  Also, the correct reading is the most of your OPPONENTS tokens YOU destroyed during the game vs. the number of YOUR OWN tokens THEY destroyed, right?

In Mission 3: Control Unit, IF (and only if) the Control Unit is able to be claimed PRIOR to turn 1 (if 1st question was answered 'no', then ignore this question. Otherwise...), could a unit with the ability to move before the game begins (such as vehicle with Vanguard which allows unit to move as-if it were the Movement Phase) move into contact with the Control Unit, move the Control Unit from the front of its model/base to the end closest to its' deployment zone and use any further move allowance/Advancing as-if it were the Movement Phase to move it up to the 9" allowed, and the drop it prior to the 1st turn movement phase? Could that unit, or another unit then move the Control unit up to the 9" allowed in the 1st turn Movement Phase in order to have effectively moved the Control Unit up to 18" away from the center of the board by the end of the 1st Turn Movement Phase?

In Mission 4: Quest for Glory, If you have tabled your opponent do you get the 'Gave up no Glory in back to back turns'  Bonus point, or do you need to keep one of your opponents models or units alive for however many turns it takes until the conditions are specifically met?

In Mission 5: Energy Siphon, How does a unit/model take control of an Energy Nexus, (since the Mission does not specify) by coming into contact, by being within 3", or by some other method? Can you please verify that once an Energy Nexus is Increased, it STAYS Increased for the rest of the game (scoring 2 points if Siphoned at the end of a player turn thereafter, unless it is Destroyed), and doesn't become un-Increased when points are scored from it?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Thanks for the great feedback and questions, please see answers inline below:

13 minutes ago, Frowbakk said:

Sneaky Git Mission specific questions of sneaky-gitted-sneaky-ness of git-dom:

Can an Objective (a Grot, Control Unit, or Energy Nexus in Missions 1, 3, and 5, respectively) be claimed PRIOR to turn 1 by way of before-the-first-turn Vanguard moves, Scout moves, Infiltrator deployment, redeployment via special ability, Genestealer Cult  ability, or other shenanigans? (Shenanigans like Act-of-Faith moves, etc, which happen at the START of turn are allowed, I assume?)

Yes, except for the special rules these objectives work like normal 40K objectives and can be controlled during initial deployment or pre-game movement.

In Mission 1: Grot Hunt, can you choose to abandon a Captured Grot (thereby making it a Free Grot) by moving the unit with control over the Captured Grot more than 3" away from the spot where the Grot was captured? Can the capturing unit turn over control of the Captured Grot to another unit? If a unit cannot voluntarily move away from the Captured Grot, what happens if the controlling unit is moved away from the Captured Grot involuntarily, such as by having to Fall Back or Retreat more than 3" away, an opponents psychic puppet ability, etc?

Yes, other than the rules for Sneaking and Fleeing the Grot tokens operate like normal 40K objectives.

In Mission 2: Land Claim, the correct reading of the Bonus Scoring  section is the most of YOUR OWN tokens YOU placed (and if removed, placed once again) when compared to the number of your OPPONENTs tokens placed (and placed again) during the game, correct?  Also, the correct reading is the most of your OPPONENTS tokens YOU destroyed during the game vs. the number of YOUR OWN tokens THEY destroyed, right?

Correct, since you can only ever place your own tokens and destroy your opponents tokens the aggregate total of each action determines the award of the bonus points.

In Mission 3: Control Unit, IF (and only if) the Control Unit is able to be claimed PRIOR to turn 1 (if 1st question was answered 'no', then ignore this question. Otherwise...), could a unit with the ability to move before the game begins (such as vehicle with Vanguard which allows unit to move as-if it were the Movement Phase) move into contact with the Control Unit, move the Control Unit from the front of its model/base to the end closest to its' deployment zone and use any further move allowance/Advancing as-if it were the Movement Phase to move it up to the 9" allowed, and the drop it prior to the 1st turn movement phase? Could that unit, or another unit then move the Control unit up to the 9" allowed in the 1st turn Movement Phase in order to have effectively moved the Control Unit up to 18" away from the center of the board by the end of the 1st Turn Movement Phase?

To avoid such shenanigans, I have added "The Control Unit cannot be picked up prior to Turn 1" 🙂

In Mission 4: Quest for Glory, If you have tabled your opponent do you get the 'Gave up no Glory in back to back turns'  Bonus point, or do you need to keep one of your opponents models or units alive for however many turns it takes until the conditions are specifically met?

If you table your opponent the game would be over, so I suppose if you wanted to claim that bonus then you would need to keep them alive (although playing with your food like that could have an impact on your Sportsmanship score) 🙂

In Mission 5: Energy Siphon, How does a unit/model take control of an Energy Nexus, (since the Mission does not specify) by coming into contact, by being within 3", or by some other method? Can you please verify that once an Energy Nexus is Increased, it STAYS Increased for the rest of the game (scoring 2 points if Siphoned at the end of a player turn thereafter, unless it is Destroyed), and doesn't become un-Increased when points are scored from it?

An Energy Syphon is just a objective with special rules, so the standard 3" control applies. Once a nexus is upgraded it stays that way until destroyed. To clarify, I have changed the language slightly to "Syphoning an Increased Energy Nexus awards 2 points instead of 1 every turn"

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Loading...
Sign in to follow this  

×
×
  • Create New...