How to have fun while losing badly

Stoobert

This came to me in a dream. 

I'm not very good at playing 40k.  I lose a lot.  I barely know my own dex, much less yours.  The rules overwhelm me.  I get flummoxed counting dice.  I enjoy painting and converting and am what most people would call a 'hobbyist' but this post is for competitive players too.

It seems to me that most humans have an innate sense of fairness, and when they setup across the table from someone to play 40k and by turn 2 it's clear our defeat is a forgone conclusion, this offends our sense of fairness.  Whether you're playing your buddy with a hastily assembled hodge podge list or you've got a hotness list on the top table of a tournament, the ideal game for most people seems to go something like this: 

...a closely fought battle against a friendly, knowledgable player that reaches a satisfying conclusion where one incident had it gone the other way would have changed everything, but ALAS you won in the end through good decision making, superior knowledge or just plain luck.  Well fought sir, shake hands. 

This ideal is elusive.

When it's clear this "ideal game" is not what I'm playing right now, I've felt downtrodden and said (or at least thought) "what's the point?".  I have seen other players do this a lot too.  40k players tend to be an emotional bunch when our toys get removed from the table at a much faster pace than the other guy.

Because I suck at the game so bad, and I admit I am unwilling to invest the time, money and research to play better, I've had to come up with alternative thoughts and behaviors or else I risk not wanting to play anymore.  Anyone feel in the same boat?

So here's what to do when I know I'm going to lose badly: