McNathanson Posted October 9, 2014 Report Share Posted October 9, 2014 We had a great game the other night, Dark Elves vs. Dark Elves. He had some bad dice to start and I had some bad dice to make up for it, and in the end we were down to just a few units battling it out for the game when we had to quit cuz the game store was closing! So I guess we'll have to run it back, oh darn ;) Also I've enjoyed reading the Malekith Cauldron unit thread! I think it's great if for no other reason than to get people thinking about how to fight a combat with multiple characters/champs and all kinds of varying stats and abilities!I did manage to flank charge this unit with a nearly-full unit of Cold One Knights and two very killy characters. I realize that the wiser course would have been to just bait it and run the whole game, but I thought for sure my unit would break it on the flank charge. However due to the first round being very strange due to alignment stuff, I only won by 4 and he held, and after that it was all up to the dice as our units fought it out. But to the questions I had, there were some strange things going on that made it unclear what should happen (at least to me, who is still learning the rules minutiae of 8th) 1) What happens when a larger model (e.g. Cauldron) is in a unit of smaller models (Cold One Knights) and is flank charged, like this: BB 1122 BB 3344 ABBC5566 ABBC7788 9900 where A and C are Knights, B is the Cauldron, and the numbered models are my Knights in his flank. We played it that only my models in b2b with the front rank (3, 5, 7 and 9) could attack, along with my models supporting attacks behind those models (4, 6, 8 and 0). The rest of my unit (which would have been in b2b with the Cauldron, except that it was a full model's width away since there were no Cold One Knights in the back rank of his unit) could not attack. Did we do that right?2) Pretend both his Knights (A and C) are characters... can "A", who is not in b2b at the start, "Make Way" by filling in the rear rank alongside the Cauldron (touching 1 and 3)? I think there was one other question we had but I can't remember it... maybe later :) Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Join the conversation
You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.