Jump to content

"The Moon over Lightning" 1,850 pts Concept


MikhailLenin

Recommended Posts

Bringing to you all a French Overlord concept list. Assuming the FAQ or Clarification gets made about how an IC in the DA book gets Ravenwing Special Rule, I am going to operate on the assumption that a Bike grants that rule to the model. The list I am toying with is the following:

 

RW Strike Force Detachment:

 

HQ - Librarian with Mastery Level 1, Force Staff, Psychic Hood, Auspex, Bike

Elites - 6x Ravenwing Command Squad with 1 RW Grenade Launcher, 5 Plasma Talon, Apothcary, 5 Corvus Hammer, 1 Ravenwing Standard.
Fast Attack - 5x Ravenwing Squad with 2 Grav Guns
Fast Attack - 5x Ravenwing Squad with 2 Grav Guns
Fast Attack - 5x Ravenwing Squad with 2 Grav Guns
Fast Attack - 6x Ravenwing Squad with 2 Meltaguns, 1 Attack Bike with Multimelta
Fast Attack - 6x Ravenwing Squad with 2 Meltaguns, 1 Attack Bike with Multimelta

RW Support Squadron:
Darkshroud with Heavy Bolter
3x RW Speeders with Heavy Bolter and Typhoon Missile Launcher

SM Strike Force Command: (Clan Rankaan)
Captain with Chapter Master Ugprade, Artificer Armour, Thunderhammer, The Gorgon Chain

Total - 1,850

The Overall list mechanic is that the Libby and the Clan Rankaan Chapter Master ride with the Ravenwing Command Squad which confers Hit & Run + Skilled Rider to the Models. The Clan Rankaan Chapter Master can act as the tank for the unit as well as the Beat Stick. He has by nature a 2+/3++ and Eternal Warrior (Invul Downgrades to a 4++ on his last Wound); in addition he receives +1 FNP for being an Iron Hands as well as another +1 FNP from the Gorgon Chain until he takes his first wound. (He also gains It Will not Die). The Libby will roll on the Telepathy table for Psychic Shriek and a shot at Invis or Shrouding.

The Core of the Army is a typical biker army, bodies with Special Weapon. The one benefit (aside from being 4 points more expensive than their White Scars brethen) is that the 7 man Melta squad can Combat Squad into 3 distinctive Unit giving me an MSU advantage in certain match-ups.

The Ravenwing Support Squadron functions as literally the best Biker Support unit money can buy. The Darkshroud gives all the units about Stealth (2+ Reroll Jink for the Command Squad, 3+ Reroll Jink for all the other Bike Squad) while the Darkshroud grants itself and the 3 Typhoon Speeders Shrouding (thats a 5+ in the open Cover or a 2+ Reroll Jink Save for themselves). The Darkshroud additionally prevents the more shooty units to be able to overwatch my units. All the while the Formation gives all the models Interceptor (Which can be very useful versus Reserve Armies or if you find a Skyfire Nexus early in the game a Heldrake Defensive unit), Strafing Run (Meaning BS5 for a lot of targets) and Grim Resolve (Stubborn and BS2 Overwatch) which really only comes to play when you get to use the cool formation rule which enables the Formation to Overwatch even though they are vehicle and they can overwatch like Tau support overwatch within 24" of the unit.

 

What I really appreciate about this list is the ability to keep the entire army in reserve aside from the RW Support Squadron and have them enter on turn 2 all together (which is a reasonable tactic unless your opponent can ignore your cover saves on your speeders) due to the fact that Reroll 2+ cover save Speeders is pretty durable. Also enabling the RW Strike Force to Turboboost when it enters (or turn 1) and benefit from Jink rules without jinking really maximizes a Turn 3 attack.

 

For Warlord Traits, I would probably roll on the Iron Hands Clan Rankaan table for the number 3 Results which grants him another +1 on FNP for a 2+ FNP until he takes a wound.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

I don't think this actually works. Pretty sure the Gladius High Command option is only available within that Detachment, since it doesn't have a Formation Datasheet.

Are you sure? It is a Datasheet without a page because it doesnt have any additional rules.

When reading again the Gladius Strike Force page, it explains fhat it is a detachment and all its options are formations.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

 

 

 

Please note that some content ­– the Cities of Death and Planetstrike stratagems – was designed for an older edition of Warhammer 40,000 and has been included for players who still wish to use it. The rest of the rules are fully compatible with the 2015 edition of Codex: Space Marines, and the history of Clan Raukaan remains essential reading for all sons of the Gorgon. 

 

Sweet

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Are you sure? It is a Datasheet without a page because it doesnt have any additional rules.

When reading again the Gladius Strike Force page, it explains fhat it is a detachment and all its options are formations.

I'm not entirely sure, but it's only referred to as a "choice", not as a "Formation". Also, above, it says that the slots are a combination of Formations and Army List Entries, and this is just an Army List Entry. There is a Datasheet, yes, but it's just the Space Marine Captain Datasheet, not a Formation Datasheet.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

I'm not entirely sure, but it's only referred to as a "choice", not as a "Formation". Also, above, it says that the slots are a combination of Formations and Army List Entries, and this is just an Army List Entry. There is a Datasheet, yes, but it's just the Space Marine Captain Datasheet, not a Formation Datasheet.

Thats not true, the Formation also allows for 0-1 Honor Guard and or 0-1 Command Squad and or 0-1 Emperor Champion

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Hmm, I missed that. Don't know. Could be either way. Still seems kind of sketchy to me, between the lack of Datasheet and the fact that it's the only option that could fall under the heading of "Army List Entries", so if it is a Formation, there's no reason for that wording in the header. But on the other hand, that could just be copypasta. Might as well roll with it unless it gets FAQed, whether by GW or ITC.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Agree with WestRider.  I will try and collect the rules quotes when I have the chance but the Main rulebook defines datasheets as being for units or formations.  No datasheet, no formation or unit (units in old codexes are the only exception to this).  Then, all the composite style formations use language which supports this.  It states you make select from the following datasheets -- not formations.  So some are formations and some are units.

 

There are many similar examples in other codexes.  Daemonkin composite formations has Maulerfiends available as units, not formations.  Necrons decurion have Flayed Ones and Deathmarks.  Eldar have wraithknights and the like. 

 

ITC also went out of their way to address this at one point, stating their no duplicate formations did not apply to these (so 8 maulerfiend daemonkin is legal, for example).

 

 


  • Note: This includes “Decurion Style” Detachments which are comprised of multiple datasheets and Formations. They may not take duplicate Formations within the Detachment, although they make take duplicate Data Slate units within the Detachment if permitted to do so.
Link to comment
Share on other sites

Hmm, I missed that. Don't know. Could be either way. Still seems kind of sketchy to me, between the lack of Datasheet and the fact that it's the only option that could fall under the heading of "Army List Entries", so if it is a Formation, there's no reason for that wording in the header. But on the other hand, that could just be copypasta. Might as well roll with it unless it gets FAQed, whether by GW or ITC.

I'm leaving this one alone. I don't own the DA book yet, plus all of MikhailLenin's lists always strike me as sketchy. Not sure if it's a personal bias against the player or of if there is something sketchy about the lists.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Agree with WestRider.  I will try and collect the rules quotes when I have the chance but the Main rulebook defines datasheets as being for units or formations.  No datasheet, no formation or unit (units in old codexes are the only exception to this).  Then, all the composite style formations use language which supports this.  It states you make select from the following datasheets -- not formations.  So some are formations and some are units.

 

There are many similar examples in other codexes.  Daemonkin composite formations has Maulerfiends available as units, not formations.  Necrons decurion have Flayed Ones and Deathmarks.  Eldar have wraithknights and the like. 

 

ITC also went out of their way to address this at one point, stating their no duplicate formations did not apply to these (so 8 maulerfiend daemonkin is legal, for example).

The problem Winterman is the Strike Command Formation is not a single Data Slate but is a combination of a multiple Dataslates. So I am still not sure that prevents me from taking a Strike Command Formation as a standalone formation.

 

Couldnt anyone just take a Flayed Ones Formation aka a Dataslate as a source barring Come the Apocalypse?

Link to comment
Share on other sites

I'm leaving this one alone. I don't own the DA book yet, plus all of MikhailLenin's lists always strike me as sketchy. Not sure if it's a personal bias against the player or of if there is something sketchy about the lists.

 

Calling my list Sketchy or me Sketchy is bit offensive Pax when you post the most grouchy rules argument online... (A bit of the Kettle black syndrome)

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Calling my list Sketchy or me Sketchy is bit offensive Pax when you post the most grouchy rules argument online... (A bit of the Kettle black syndrome)

You know, I am actually sorry to offend. I have no idea why your lists strike me as sketchy, they just do.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Wow, you just New Jersey "No Offensed" him in your half-hearted apology for offending him.  

Sent a PM after. Agree, the above seems very half hearted. It isn't, but as written, it seems that way.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

So, I've been hearing some chatter about this, but can someone walk me through how combining units with different chapter tactics doesn't take away from chapter tactics even though it says it does?  

 

I'm not following the logic of this position.  

Well DA and BA dont have Chapter Tactics.

 

BA jsut have the Furious Charge USR

 

DA have their Grim Resolve, Deathwing and or Ravenwing.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Loading...
×
×
  • Create New...