Jump to content

Couple Rules Questions, Bombs and Master Crafted


Recommended Posts

So a couple questions...




About bombs and bombing runs. It describes it as a "special kind of attack." Which makes it seem to me that it is not a shooting attack. Does this mean a model that Jinks! the prior turn may still drop a bomb on the ensuing turn despite it being a blast weapon, since for all rules purposes it is not a shooting attack?


Secondly, in the newest space marine codex they have kind of reworded Vulkan's master crafted ability.


"all meltaguns, combi-meltas and multi-meltas fired by models in this detachment have the master-crafted special rule."


Followed by in the main rule book


"a model armed with a combi-weapon can choose to fire either the main boltgun, or the secondary weapon."


Now, I think I fully understand the RAI to be that the melta portion is suppose to be the one getting the mastercrafting, but as RAW it would indicate that any model equipped with a combi weapon would automatically have it mastercrafted even for things such as special ammunition etc.


Would love some weigh in from both sides, ITC rulings etc and 40k BRB 

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Bombs are a type of shooting attack, for most intents and purposes- the BRB be notes that they are instead conducted during the movement phase, but otherwise function like other weapons. (They clearly aren't a close combat attack, of course.) If you Jink on the enemy turn, you will not be able to drop a bomb on your own turn if it has the Blast rule (which essentially all of them do.)


Vulkan's ability does, in fact, Master-Craft Combi-Meltas, allowing you to reroll misses even when using the Boltgun half. It's clearly not what was intended, but that's what the rule says. (Often this is superfluous, as characters in a Sallie detachment can MC one weapon anyways, but for Sternguard and such it's a cute bonus.)


Neither of these are official as per ITC/GW FAQs, but they are pretty simple readings of the rules, so they would need to release some kind of explicit counter-statement to change them.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Guest Mr. Bigglesworth

Mastercrafted combi helping the bolster makes sense from fluff so that might have been an intended change. Weird that part of a weapon was masterfully crafted ;)

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

  • Create New...