Jump to content

Objective Secured on ICs?


Guest

Recommended Posts

Does it only apply when they are solo?

 

In example, that DA demi-company would give objective secured to the chappy/commander. Objective secured is specifically a unit thing, and ICs can be units of 1.

 

That said, if the IC joins another unit, do they cease to be objective secured?

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Remember when I said quoting the rules are helpful in these situations?

 

"Objective Secured: A unit with this special rule controls Objective Markers even if an
enemy scoring unit is within range of the Objective Marker, unless the enemy unit also
has this special rule."

 

Unit. When he is by himself, he's a unit. When he's part of a non-obsec unit, he... "While an Independent Character is part of a unit, he counts as part of the unit for all rules purposes, though he still follows the rules for characters." "the
Independent Character’s special rules are not conferred upon the unit." is not a unit anymore. He plus the new unit are a unit.

 

So by himself or with an obsec unit? Obsec

Attached to a non-obsec unit? Not-Obsec.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

I think the above interpretation is correct. But from my understanding, all units that are part of the demi-company are ObSec. Which would mean, the IC in question would have to join a unit that is outside of the demi-company in order to lose it. So if the IC joined a unit of terminators, then yes I think they would indeed lose ObSec while attached to said unit. 

Link to comment
Share on other sites

How quaint, a clear and decisive ruling in the BRB.

 

 

I think the above interpretation is correct. But from my understanding, all units that are part of the demi-company are ObSec. Which would mean, the IC in question would have to join a unit that is outside of the demi-company in order to lose it. So if the IC joined a unit of terminators, then yes I think they would indeed lose ObSec while attached to said unit. 

This is true, but not all the units, in a Lion Strike Force, for example, have Objective Secured, only those via the demi-company sub-formation.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

I don't have the DA codex yet, what's the Shroud do?

Same as last edition, FNP for the bearer. Also gives shrouding if the bearer is NOT in a unit. 10pts in this edition.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Loading...
×
×
  • Create New...