KOW2, AOS and WFB

I've been an amateur game designer all my life (too bad the pay sucks), and love to sit around and analyze what makes a game 'tick'. So this whole madness around "what next?" has me thrilled to be perusing rules-sets and ruminating on design choices :)

In particular, comparing KOW2, AOS, and WFB, I see some really stark contrasts:

AOS

Pros:

-Brilliant game flow: you get right into things in a natural and fun way

-Elegant and interesting player choice: hero and command powers present viable and meaningful options in-game, but take very little effort to understand

-Wonderful flavor: You can't get much better than CCG-style "basic rules, complex 'cards'"

Cons:

-No army construction rules! Even casual players are complaining. That's pretty bad

-No tactics in movement: there is no question that ranks 'n' flanks is what elevates WFB over 40K in terms of depth (jab!)

-Currently weak scenario support: this means there isn't even strategy in movement :( The game is all about unit-power and combat management.

How to fix and make great:

-Army construction rules

-A mechanic to reward 'surrounding' enemies so that the movement tactics of ranks 'n' flanks is added to the game.

-6 solid scenarios, or really iron-out a good way to do 'sudden death', so that more strategic movement is added to the game

-Minor incentive for clumping a single unit (enabling movement trays and therefore full-sized armies)

-Discourage clumping multiple units (less necessary for larger games and games with multiple positional objectives)

-Use bases + KOW2 LoS system (if the game is worth it, I'm happy to rebase)

KOW2

Pros:

-Unit based ranks 'n' flanks gameplay: Such a good choice to scrap model-based gameplay. Cleans up so much of the garbage from WFB. You basically have ~10 pieces (units).

-Streamlined movement: easy to carry out, easy to understand, gives enough choice for a high-skill ceiling, but not so much that it burdens the player