Advice on assembling Infinity miniatues

somewhere17

Hello,

I just bought the Operation: Ice Storm box and now am attempting to assemble the miniatures.  Yikes!  It's been a long long long time since I assembled miniatures (since WH 40k 3rd Ed), so I'm basically a beginner.  The trouble I'm having is getting the metal miniatures and the glue to cooperate.  I'm using some older Zap-A-Gap glue which I place a small dab on the body of the miniature and then hold the appendage to the designated area, wait to a count of 30-40 and .... well, no luck (unless my goal is to affix my finger to metal :ohmy:).  I've also attempted to use the "Green Stuff"(?) to help hold the bond, but that also isn't working very well.

Any suggestions on why I'm having such problems?  Do I need to hold the two gluing parts together longer?  The Zap-A-Gap does work (I kept it in the freezer), but maybe it gets old?  Any advice on basic technics of assembling Infinity models is greatly appreciated?

Thank you!

Jim

Hi Jim,

I'd suggest a few things:

1.  New glue; it does get old for whatever reason and a tube of glue is pretty cheap.  I like using the gel super glue, rather than the super liquidy stuff, as it gives you a lot more control.  I've also found that it sticks nearly instantly but does have some cure time for 100% effectiveness.  Not sure what that time is, but if you leave it over night I'd think that'd be plenty.

2.  Wash your models before gluing and painting.  Metal models have mold release agents that help them not stick to their casting molds and this needs to be removed, otherwise things don't like to stick to them.  Warm water and soap with an old toothbrush will do the trick.

3.  Green stuff has always worked for me with metal, so hopefully the above two points make the difference.  A small amount to interface between the two metal surfaces will increase the glue bonding surface area.

Hopefully that helps (and hopefully I'm not forgetting anything)!

• Like 1