Casting material suggestions

Scarydog

I have some experience casting small items and parts but have not done it in a couple years. 

Last time I used Tap plastics quick cast and was pretty pleased with the results. 

What I'm looking for is suggestions on the best vendor to buy such supplies.

2 part silicon for pouring molds

and 2 part resin for casting. 

Any suggestions?

• Like 3

40 minutes ago, Scarydog said:

And do you have a preferred vendor? 

I'm up in Bellingham, and I tend to buy resin in bulk. As such, my purchase habits aren't typical for the hobbyist. When I just need a "little bit" (10 gallons of resin, or 5 gallons of silicone) I mail-order from Farwest Materials : https://farwestmaterials.com/ . When I need more (50 to 90 or so gallons of resin), I place an order through Seattle Pottery Supply and drive down to pick it up when it ships in: http://www.seattlepotterysupply.com/

For smaller and more sane amounts, SmoothOn has vendors all over, and their trial kits are easy to mail-order, if you need to go that route: https://www.smooth-on.com/distributors/

2 hours ago, Justjokin said:

+1 on the Smooth-On products.  I use Oomoo 25 for making molds, and Smoothcast 300 for casting.  Both available in the small trial sets that JMG mentioned.  

Fine suggestions! Smoothcast 300 and 320 are basically the same resin, save that 320 is re-formulated to be a bit better at taking dye. Which, of course, only matters if you're adding dye to your resin (I dye mine grey). They're the same viscosity (80 cps), and slightly more liquid than the (still excellent) TAP Quickcast (about 250 cps).