revisiting 5th edition

Not too long ago, during a re-org of my office, I packed away all of my older editions of WFB and 40K. Well for whatever reason, I still have a full set of 5th edition stuff in my office. So I pulled it out yesterday to walk through memory lane. 4th was my gateway drug. I had bought my first army book during 3rd edition. It was the brand new Wood Elf book. The dragon model sealed the deal. I had actually wanted to play Undead, but I didn't understand the rules of fantasy when I looked through the undead book and was scared off by their poor stats (I was a 40K rogue trader player at that point).

Anyways, it wasn't until 5th edition and the Lizardmen vs Bretonnia box set that I started actually playing. So long story long, 5th is where WFB really became my go-to game. I had just a small wood elf army, those single plastic archers, some war dancers, some dryads and a treeman and that was basically my army. You could actually play with that little. That is when I got most of my D&D friends into it as well.

Well I pulled out those core books, the rules, battle book, and the magic book, and just read through them again. That is really a good game. I liked everything they did. The battle book had scenarios, campaign rules, and stats and points for all the armies. That edition I don't think they released any new army books either except for Brets and Lizardmen. I'm really tempted to see if I can scrounge up some players for 5th ed. I'm not saying the rules were perfect...but they were well done and they were not afraid to list out some different ways to play. The actually tournament lists had rules to limit them. In this age of power creep and so many rules...I think I'd like to step back and bit and find something a little simpler and I think 5th might just do it. It will let me play with the majority of my models. And I can probably find some units that will work as "counts as".

So if anyone would like to try some 5th ed WFB, give me a shout.