Tau Help Regarding Crisis Suit Loadouts...

Chapel

I'm new to Tau and wanted to ask a couple questions about crisis suit loadouts after someone mentioned a few ideas to me for helping out my list. 

Tau Crisis suits have access to 3 weapons systems, you don't have to buy 3 but you can get up to three. I was under the impression that if you buy two missile pods for example, that they automatically get twin linked instead of being two separate missile pods. Obviously if you have two weapons (not twin linked)then you get double the shots which may or may not be preferable.

Can you choose to buy two separate systems and just pay the single weapons points twice instead of twin linking them? 

Any advice is appreciated.

Hello there,

I have never professed to be a supreme Tau commander, nor do I play one on TV, so please take this with a grain of salt.  I tend to play for storyline / narrative and model based upon what my son, my wife and I think looks cool or would be fun to use.  So with those caveats...

1.  XV8 Crisis battlesuit loadouts

I think the airburst fragmentation projector is just so/so... nothing really making it a "oooh get this" choice

I think the burst cannon is only viable if I pay the extra points, make them 2 single weapons choices and just load out the entire squad with them.  3 suits with a total of 24 shots (which should be markerlighted and possibly even supported by gun drones) means that you're rolling a HUUUUUUUUGE amount of dice and taking care of light infantry. 

I think flamers aren't really my cup of tea, as I don't like being that close to folks.  But I know some folks like them.

I think the fusion blaster (melta basically) has some extra range and that helps for the ol' reliable deep strike / pop the vehicle / wait I'm still over 12" away from the folks bailing from the slagged vehicle and won't be assaulted yay