Jump to content

Recommended Posts

Posted

Hoping this is a simple question since my last few have turned into long threads (interesting ones, mind you, but not what I intended!)

The Dark Venom poison gives an Assassin Killing Blow:

 

"A model with Dark Venmo has the Killing Blow special rule."

The Manbane poison gives an Assassin +1 on Wound rolls:

"A model with Manbane receives a +1 bonus on all rolls To Wound (rolls of 1 still fail)."

 

Killing Blow (the pertinent part):

"If a model with the Killing Blow special rule rolls a 6 to wound in close combat, he automatically slays his opponent…"

Based on that text, I would say, NO, the +1 To Wound doesn't mean he generates a KB on a 5+, because it says if he ROLLS a 6… which I generally construe to mean "unmodified roll", but...

 

… sadly throughout the BRB, the term "roll" is used to mean "modified roll", not "unmodified roll".  So the question still seems to stand.

I personally would say NO, but that's mainly just a judgement call, I don't see any clear evidence either way, so I'm curious what others think.

Posted

You can play that the rolls of 5 are killing blow yet then rolls of 6 would be 7 and therefore not killing blow. Easier to just say natural 6 are killing blow. What ever way you play make sure your opponent knows though

  • Like 1
Posted

I love it.  You hit with rolls of X or more, and wound with rolls of Y or more, but killing blow triggers on Z, not Z or more.  A natural five becomes a six and a killing blow, but a natural six becomes a seven and not a killing blow.

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Loading...
×
×
  • Create New...