MexicanNinja Posted October 11, 2014 Report Share Posted October 11, 2014 An updated Masters FAQ has been produced and is on the wargamersusa website. With that being said, I have read it and found 1 ruling which completely disregards the Warhammer Official FAQ MRB. Here we go. WFB USA Masters FAQ v1.0, dated 10/01/14, page 6 4.48 How do we resolve the Spirit Leech/Unmodified Leadership/Inspiring Presence dilemma? The caster and the target will use the highest Leadership value available to them within the unit, but may use the Inspiring Presence if in range. Neither the caster, the target, nor the models with Inspiring Presence will have their Leadership changed by items/spells/abilities which modify Leadership (such as Doom and Darkness, The Standard of Discipline, Aura of Dark Majesty etc). That above FAQ contradicts the following: WARHAMMER RULEBOOK, Official Update Version 1.8 Page 5 Q. If a unit taking a Leadership test has a modifier to its Leadership, will the modifier still apply if the unit uses the General's Leadership because of the Inspiring Presence special rule for example? (p.10) A. Yes Page 5 Q. When taking a Leadership test, sometimes you have to take it on your unmodified Leadership. What is your unmodified Leadership? (p.10) A. Your unmodified Leadership is the highest Leadership characteristic in the unit. So the Leadership from any characters in the unit itself (but not from outside the unit, from Inspiring Presence for example) with a higher Leadership can be used unless specifically stated otherwise Page 11 Q. If an enemy unit is affected by the Doom and Darkness spell, and the unit is within the general's Inspiring Presence radius, does the Leadership value conferred by Inspiring Presence suffer the modifier even if the General is not affected? (Reference) A. Yes I now ask the following. 1) Why did the people writing the Masters FAQ not just give an answer to reference the correct page numbers for the Warhammer Rulebook FAQ? The Masters FAQ was updated on 10/01/14, so they should have had this material when making the rule. 2) Is there someone on Ordo Fanaticus who can contact the people writing the Masters FAQ to let them know that they are going against the Official GW FAQ? 3) In the event that my above two questions have been considered by the people who write and finalize the Masters FAQ, did they just say, "F it, we don't like that so we're modifying them for our tournaments?" I hope this isn't a case and is/was due to something which was just overlooked. 4) If the organizers of the Masters still elect to use their ruling and not those given to us in the Official FAQ, could we get a reason as to why? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Join the conversation
You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.