Building/Gluing/Painting MDF?

indytims

Yup! I would love to hear all your ideas/suggestions for putting together MDF buildings and then painting them!

I've googled a bit and seen 1000 different suggestions to the point I am not sure what would be best, so I'd love to hear what you've experienced works best for -you-.

For gluing the parts together - superglue? Wood glue? Elmers? Someone mentioned using Modpodge (which I have), But I am keen to hear what works really well!

For painting, I've read that using basic normal primer is bad, because the mdf will 'soak it up'. Not only have I read that this could alter the entire surface of the piece I'm working with, but it also is a waste of primer. I've read where some people use a 'lacquer' to coat the mdf first, let it dry completely, THEN prime it?

I've never worked with MDF before, so any thoughts/suggestions would be greatly appreciated! :)

-Tim

• Like 1

Most All of this is home depot mdf trim and panels.  Glued mostly with zap-a-gap, but I could have used superglue, or construction adhesive.   All before painting.

WP_20140118_003.jpg

This was primered black with a mix of random plastic friendly spraypaints, because that's what I had.  I then dry brushed some metalic that I also found in a small can at Home Depot.  

The floor is granny grid which you can find at fabric and craft stores.  I don't know what they call it, but it's used for macrame or crossstitch or some such.

My favorite detail here is a cast of the bottom of an oreo cookie tray... guess which one...   also glued with zap-a-gap.

• Like 2

Never had a problem priming MDF. I usually use $4 Rustoleum 2x coverage flat black primer.