Dark Angels 500 Point Army List

Brother Solomon

As I am new to Warhammer 40k I am open to all the criticisms and help I can acquire. This is a 500 point list that I've put some thought into. I have no real plan for this list which is why I need some input. My assumption was that this list is a well-balanced and well-rounded group. 

Librarian 75pts (Dark Vengeance model)

• Force Sword
  • Bolt Pistol

Tactical Squad 190pts (Dark Vengeance squad)

• Veteran Sergeant with plasma pistol and chainsword
  • Space marine with plasma cannon
  • Space marine with plasma gun
  • Space marine with bolter x7

Ravenwing Land Speeder 70pts

• Assault cannon
  • Heavy bolter

Dreadnought 165pts

• Upgraded built-in storm bolter with built-in heavy flamer (15pts)
  • Assault cannon
  • Extra armor 

So what are your thoughts?

• Like 1

Plasma Pistols are cool, but they're overpriced. Much better to trim that off and get a Bolt Pistol from someone to replace it (or take an extra Bolter, trim down the forward top of the Bolter and the "inside" of the Plasma Pistol to fit, and glue them together as a Combi-Plasmagun).

If you ditch the Plasma Pistol, Veteran Sergeant upgrade, and Extra Armour on the Dread, that's enough for a Rhino, which, as Xavier319 pointed out, would really help.

The Heavy Bolter/Assault Cannon mix is the classic RavenWing Speeder, but I'm not a huge fan of it. I tend to run mine either Heavy Bolter/Typhoon Launcher (stays back, at least avoiding small arms fire), or Multi-Meltas(Suicide Tank Hunters), possibly with a Heavy Flamer or two thrown in for a bit more flexibility if I'm running a Squadron.

Hello there,

My two cents echoes WestRider and others: 

Number one priority:  get those troops in a transport.  Adjust your army list accordingly to give them a box.  Can always combat squad them, dump one squad somewhere and ride on with the other.  If the Libby foot slogs it, well then he'll just have to pick his path carefully, won't he?