Priced out and disappointed by GW

ChaosGerbil

A bit of background. I'm a 23 year veteran of 40k and other wargaming. I've seen complaints about the high prices from the beginning. I've managed to amass a large collection largely through buying used, mixing in cheap 3rd party model conversions, and scratch-building. Ebay and bits sites were my friend. A few times a year I would muster up the gumption to pay full retail price. I can't seem to justify it anymore. $8 for an infantry sized model, and $20 for a 40mm base model are just too much. I have plenty of models new and old to work on so maybe it's time to officially stop my acquisitions.

I have other reasons for drawing away. GW models have been outpacing inflation to too much of a degree. At this point even a lot of the used models are high priced. It probably doesn't help that I haven't played mini wargaming in a long time. I'm also concerned about the direction GW has taken, for example Age of Sigmar and the shallowness of White Dwarf. Their paint line got objectively less vibrant and the quality is inconsistent. I've gotten splayed brushes and dried up paint pots through mail order. They shrunk then closed some of the best stores in the area, including the flagship Battle Bunker. They haven't supported community projects or tournaments for a long time. The almighty dollar pound matters more and more each year to GW. It makes me kinda sad.

I'm sticking with my rule to not sell any models. It's the only way I've been able to build my collection rather than swapping out armies every couple years like some people do. I'll save them for when I do get a chance to game, or to pass on to my son.

Anyways, thanks for reading, I just wanted to share my story and see if anyone else felt a similar way.

• Like 3