Squadron or No?

HeroZero

Im still new to the game but if I was to squad land speeders I would only squad the typhoons. Your looking at a fragile unit so up close in your face will pop fast. But the Typhoon can stay behind your line and fire, so bolters wont shoot it down. To kill it there gona have to use real firepower keeping that off other units.

Thats my2 cents for what its worth.

Which codex are you running from?

Ive seen squadrons be very good firebases in ravenwing armies

DA's are different than the SM ones. DA's has both the FA slot of 1-5 speeders and an option to include a single speeder in the FOC slot that their bikes occupy (separate units, one FOC slot). The bike option is the one that becomes troops, though it is specific that this wouldn't apply to the speeder. So, for DA, the question becomes about if you are willing to spend a FA slot on multiple speeders instead of using free portions of troops slots to field single speeders.

SM ones are always FA slots, so squadrons become more about survivability of the unit and less about list construction (unless debating between 1 and more FA slots).

As far as the squadron rules go, I like them quite a bit, but they are very difficult with land speeders and they have neither differing armor values on facings nor durability in hull points. Basically, squadrons only benefit the speeders in terms of who dies first in a unit and with save manipulation (Like the front speeder in cover/skyshield and the back one with unobstructed vision). You could get it to work, but likely you'll be paying the price of a more durable vehicle to get one of the speeders to function as.

I will note that the DA squadrons of 5, while very expensive, boast a disturbing fire output which can even rival the TAU deathstar units. That said, the squadrons are afraid of regular bolter fire....