I have been playing 40k (Marines and Tau) for about 6 months and am interested in starting a small Fantasy Army. Currently I am looking and Vampires and Dwarfs. The latter because its new and I hear it has a low model count. The former because it has a lot of fluff that I have been reading about in books. What I think I want is something with a lot of magic, relatively low or reasonable model count (cost is a factor & would like to start with 800 to 100 points worth of stuff), and lots of interesting fluff. Am I on the right path with these two armies or should I be looking elsewhere? Also I would prefer to play an evil race but it isn't necessary. Thanks in advance for the input!

-T 

Well Dwarfs aren't quite out yet, but High magic they are not. Vampires have the magic, but really need lots of basic troops (some one might be able to point you to a good low model build but I am not familiar with any).

If you want Low Model/High Magic Elves might do the trick (High or Dark) (High is easy to get into as the big box has them, but evil they are not).

As has been mentioned Dwarves don't have magic, they shut it down. We still do not know yet how the Dwarves will turnout but the book comes out SOON. They are a slow stout strong lot that are excellent with black powder.

They appear to be on the mid to hard scale to learn becuase positioning and movement is big in this game and the short ones don't move anywhere fast.

VCs are high magic with a mid level learning curve. As Drac said it is normally not a low model count army unless you go the Ghoul themed route.

I would have a hard time giving suggestions as to which one to play becuase fluff wise I love both those armies and there are a lot of secondary models out there that look fantastic that I would love to play with.