Best RPG setup for total noobs?

PourSpelur

So I haven't played a tabletop RPG in about 15 years. Was kinda into them for a good portion of my formative years but drifted away. My wife's BFF just hit her up out of the blue asking if we've ever played DnD. Nerd card tested and interest piqued. We don't get to hang out anymore and she figured it would be a good way to hang out over Skype and do something fun. Looking like it'll be me and my beautiful lady, her BFF and husband ( both are absolutely fantastic people ), and their friend. I don't know the guy but everyone else does so he's likely to be a cool guy. I believe I'm the only one with RPG experience.

So the question is...where do we start?

Was thinking a Pathfinder, adventure path. Seems like the logical choice but I'm super open to suggestions.

Thanks!

• PourSpelur changed the title to Best RPG setup for total noobs?

It's hard to go wrong with good old Dungeons & Dragons; I find the Fifth Edition to be very new player friendly, especially compared to Pathfinder... and more importantly, despite being new player friendly, it doesn't sacrifice any of the depth and detail that you want to have in a roleplaying game. The Lost Mines of Phandelver adventure that comes bundled with the starter set (and can be found various places online) is an excellent adventure -- one of my all time favorites in decades of playing and DM'ing! It is meant to tie in (loosely) to the Rise of Tiamat module, but it's pretty open-ended and will work with just about any D&D setting. 

Recently, at Guardian Games, I came across a new product called Epic Encounters: Shrine of the Kobold Queen and Lair of the Red Dragon. I haven't gotten a copy of my own, but am very much tempted. They're basically one-stop 5e adventures in a box, complete with a battle map and a set of themed miniatures. All the reviews I've read for them online have been absolutely buzzing with positivity... and they're only $50.